Skip to content
February 25, 2010 / Jenny Ann Fraser

Making Patterns

Everything that is really great and inspiring is created by the individual who can labor in freedom.

-Albert Einstein


For months, I’ve been talking to almost anyone who would listen about how excited I am about my new business idea. Friends and family are naturally interested and ask the obvious question, “How many bags have you made so far?”.

The answer of course is zero.

I made a pattern for a guitar case last August, but nothing since. Until this week.

First off, I must explain, that what I’ve been doing all this time is learning about the marketing/internet end of online selling, as I think that it is key.  This is all new to me, whereas making things is what I’ve been doing my whole life. It seems to me that if I’m going to be successful, I have to  consider my time online to be as integral to managing my own business as actually making product.

That said, it’s time to get to the part where I make some actual product, so I’ve spent the past 3 days in my shop making patterns.

Well, so far I haven’t actually made an entire pattern yet.  I spent 5 hours yesterday working on sewing one zipper panel, only to decide on the way home to scrap it and do something different.

You would think that this would frustrate me, at least I think that it should frustrate me, but it doesn’t.

I love making patterns. I’ve always loved trying to figure out in my head how something should go together and then making it happen, but I have to admit, that after 25 years of clothing and costumes it’s time for a new challenge, and wow,  have I ever found it!

I’ve been waking up each morning for the past three days actually excited to go to work!

That’s amazing considering that I’m unemployed until next week, and I could choose to lie around in my pajamas developing a relationship with my new digital cable channels.

I haven’t been this excited about a project in years!

The fact that I seem to have encountered more problems than solutions is not doing a thing to quell my enthusiasm.  These are construction issues and I’m going to learn a lot as I solve them.  I feel like I’m coming home.

I feel like I’m 20 years old and I still believe that I’m gong to get everything I want in life.  I feel like I actually know what I’m doing for the first time ever, even though, on the surface I don’t.  I feel, like whatever happens with this adventure, it’s the right path to lead me to the next right part of the journey.

There is a part of me, that still feels a bit fearful, (or maybe deathly afraid), to even think this.  So put it out on the internet  and then invite people to read it?  What if I fail? (God knows, I’ve got plenty going against me).

Well, the thing is that I no longer believe in failure. The only failure at this point would be not to try.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Fjola Sprague-Cole / Feb 27 2010 12:08 am

    *applause!!* That is so inspiring to read! You’re wise enough to have found it, and you’re brave enough to do it. I love that it makes you feel 20, life should make us feel frisky, eh? Congratulations!

    • Tuner / Mar 10 2010 4:15 pm

      “If you are twenty years old now, the energy field of your inner body will feel just the same when you are eighty” ~ The Power of Now, Eckhart Tolle.
      You’ll never lose that feeling! It’s always there. Sometimes life stresses seem to cover it up, but when it does reach the surface again and again, doesnt it feel great? 🙂

Leave a Reply

