Skip to content
April 22, 2010 / Jenny Ann Fraser

Great Friends

A lovely picture of my right ear, and some other stuff. By Cooki Lumsden

I have been spending the past couple of days trying to figure out how I want this blog to look, which is a bit difficult because… I didn’t know.

Ask me how to make a wedding gown, or a costume look great and I’m your girl… Graphic design makes my brain curl up into a knot because,  I am not a graphic designer.

I was planning to learn CSS, so that I could build my own template from scratch. I love technical stuff and will jump at  any excuse to buy a new For Dummies book, but I decided that it was just too much work, and so I took advantage of two of my talented friends.  I guess I owe them both dinner.

First, my dear friend Cooki Lumsden, who generously donated the bulk of last Saturday to take 278 pictures of me in my shop at the theatre.  He is amazing. I’ve taken a lot of pictures over the past few years, but I have never had a professional take pictures of me.  Much to my surprise it was fun, and not in the least bit painful.

Not only has Cooki taught me most of what I know about photography, (very necessary knowledge if you want to sell product that you’ve crafted) but he is also an infinite source of all types of interesting knowledge.  Even better than that, every time we’re together, I try to suck his brain out of his head and he lets me.  Now that’s what I call a friend.

The banner was designed by my dear friend Mary Ann Austin, Queen Bonesaw of the Wood Chipper Fairies and came all the way from the US. Ok, it came by email, which apparently works the same everywhere… but still.  I can’t imagine why the Queen of anything would take time out of her day to make a banner for my blog, but that’s the kind of friend Mary Ann is. I hope her Fairies don’t mind.

As I mentioned, I owe both of these wonderful talented friends dinner or something, but I don’t cook. At least not for people I like. I’m also unemployed at the moment, so going out,will be out for a while. Besides, I hear they won’t let me over the border with an expired passport so… Rain cheque?

Seriously though, as soon as my business takes off, I’ll fly everyone down to Hawaii for two weeks as a thank you. Really, I mean it.

Thank you!

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Let’s just skip dinner and go straight for the drinks! But not until after Im dont designing stuff for you. I wouldn’t want it to be blurry…again. 🙂

  2. whoops, I typo’d. Oh well, thats why YOU are the writer and I try to color in the lines.

  3. tobeme / Apr 23 2010 12:26 pm

    Looking good!

Leave a Reply

