Skip to content
May 2, 2010 / Jenny Ann Fraser

Mistakes Are Lessons and Lessons Are Gifts


One day last week, I took a walk to my favorite park by the river.  The river was still flooded from winter and the water was deep among the trees.  On this particular morning, there were about 8 Canada Geese floating leisurely about.  Their young haven’t hatched yet, and obviously they’re not nesting too close by because I was able to get quite close to them without too many warning honks to stay away.

I’ve turned into a terribly lazy photographer over the past year or so, so I didn’t have my camera with me, despite the fact that I’ve promised myself more than once to carry it with me at all times.

So, I shrugged it off and decided to enjoy them anyway.

A couple of days later when I headed back to the park, I remembered to bring my camera with me.

I met One Goose on the way and he was nice enough to pose for me until he got bored and swam off.

At the park of course, there were no geese to be seen and so I sat down on the bench to write in my journal.

After a while, I got up and took a bunch of shots of a woodpecker nearby, but I wasn’t really in the mood.  I moved on to some ducks that were swimming around, but they were quite far away and I didn’t think that ducks were very interesting anyway.  After a while, I packed up and went home.

As I exited the park, a young mum with her kids asked me if I shot anything interesting.  I told her no and then lamented jokingly about the geese I’d missed the other day.  We laughed about how things seem to turn out that way.

A goose named Gerry

A woodpecker? I was too busy sneaking up to him to catch his name.

Mr. and Mrs. Duck

No, this is not fantastic pro nature photographer stuff.  The photography is not the issue.  The issue is, that I was able to capture beautiful wild animals doing their thing, but I was too busy lamenting the missed opportunity days before, to even realize it!

It  has been raining for 3 days, but I’m not one to stay inside if I can avoid it so this morning I headed out with my camera in a light drizzle. Today, the park is full of wet and muddy puddles. In between the puddles new spring grass is sprouting up everywhere and I am present enough to see the beauty in what is in this moment, and that is when I finally get it.

The beauty that I am experiencing on this rainy morning in the park, it’s everywhere! All of the time! Camera, or no camera, rain or no rain. Wherever I am, all of the time.We just have to choose to see it and accept it for what it is.

So today, I am grateful for the lesson learned, and the gift received.


12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kathy Loh / May 2 2010 5:54 pm

    Fun shots Jenny – I like the male duck looking like Narcissus at his own image. I guarantee you…If you take your camera everywhere, especially to the same spots, Nature will know you want her pictures and will start showing up more and more for you. Cosmos is quite the ham.

    • jennyannfraser / May 2 2010 7:24 pm

      Oh how I love your take on that. You’re so correct. I will be sure to remember to give Cosmos ample opportunity to shine for the camera.

  2. ~TUNER~ / May 2 2010 11:08 pm

    Beautifully written, Jenny. And the puddle picture is now my favorite. I have it as my wallpaper on my computer to remind me how it’s the simple things that bring the most joy. 🙂
    ~TUNER~

    • jennyannfraser / May 3 2010 7:05 pm

      Thanks so much Mary. I’m so happy to be able to provide reminders like that.

  3. tobeme / May 5 2010 11:46 am

    Jenny,
    Love your photos and even more I love see the beauty of all through your eyes! You gave me a smile just now!

    • jennyannfraser / May 6 2010 7:16 am

      Well, thank you for spreading that smile around Mark.

  4. Belinda Munoz + The Halfway Point / May 6 2010 5:29 pm

    Hi, Jenny,

    These are gorgeous photos and your words, equally so. Isn’t it amazing how beauty really is everywhere, even in and betweeen the puddles! Thanks for this wisdom.

    Take care,
    Belinda

    • jennyannfraser / May 7 2010 4:42 pm

      You’re so welcome Belinda,
      It’s true that it’s everywhere. The difficulty, I think lies in being conscious enough to remember to see it.

  5. BK / May 7 2010 10:00 am

    Jenny, you might have missed an opportunity the other day, but what you had taken this day were spectacular. The shot of the woodpecker and the duck looking into the water. Beauty is everywhere … just waiting for us to discover.

  6. Chris Edgar / May 8 2010 5:49 pm

    Whoa, if those aren’t pro nature photographer-level pictures, you’re really going to knock them out with your professional portfolio! The way you captured the water reflections by itself was worth the price of admission for me. Admittedly I don’t know anything about photography, but these get this layperson’s stamp of approval.

    • jennyannfraser / May 9 2010 1:12 pm

      Thank you so much Chris, and thanks for visiting.
      You’ve inspired me. I’ll be sure to post more pictures in the future!

Leave a Reply

