Skip to content
June 2, 2010 / Jenny Ann Fraser

This Used To Be My Playground

The sun is shining here in Winnipeg.  Apparently we should take full advantage of this because it’s going to start raining tonight and continue until the end of the weekend. (Sigh) 

The torrential down pour started last Thursday night and though we’ve had a few days of sunshine, it’s going to take a lot more than that to dry up this city. 

My favorite park on May 26th 2010

 

My favorite park on May 30th 2010

 

The new Fawn, whom I’ve named Casey, Was fast asleep in his bed when I saw him last Thursday evening. There were ducks swimming in it on Friday morning.  Now, my Fantasy Forest is submerged under about 4 feet of water and Casey and his Momma are far away.  I hope they’ve found some comfortable land to inhabit.  There isn’t any for them around here. 

Even the Geese seem to have moved on, which must have been difficult because their babies are too young to fly.  I’m guessing the Ducks would think that they have conquered the world, but then again, most of their food is under water. 

It looks as though I will be doing my meditating at home in my orange velveteen chair for a long time to come. 

This, is how we learn to accept “What Is”, I suppose.  Everything is impermanent, constantly changing. The key to all of this?  Go with the flow. 

So for me, that means, get my ass to my shop to make some bags.

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kathy Loh / Jun 2 2010 11:10 am

    I’m feeling wonder and sadness reading this Jenny. Wow – so much water in such a short time; deluge. I trust the animals follow their wise instincts and are, for the most part, ok. Water being about feelings, I wonder about flooded feelings, deluge of feelings, underwater with feelings, nurturing, releasing… all kinds of things come up. I love how you “go with the flow” and move along to what is wanted now: making some bags. Enjoy!

    • jennyannfraser / Jun 2 2010 5:58 pm

      Thank you Kathy. It is sad and yet wondrous at the same time. Nature is so incredibly awesome, I wonder how we can be so arrogant as to believe that we should try to control, or worse destroy it. And why do we want to?
      I also can’t help but wonder where all of this rain is coming from. There seems to be so much more of it every year.
      And…I should be working a bit more and wandering a (tiny) bit less, so here I go!

  2. Emily Jane / Jun 2 2010 11:43 am

    Oh not more rain! We were out in the TORRENTIAL downpour on Saturday… so many people’s homes are affected. I hope your little fawn is okay!!

    • jennyannfraser / Jun 2 2010 6:02 pm

      I know Emily. It’s crazy.
      I hope your basement is dry. I’m starting to worry a bit about ours. There’s still a very small amount of water seeping into the laundry room and I’m wondering how much it can handle.
      On Saturday night our back yard was under about 8″ of water! I’ve never seen that much even when the snow melts.
      I spent the evening watching a fantastic ballet performance, soaked up to my knees! That was some storm!
      I’m sure that Casey and Momma have found a better home for now, and I try not to worry. I’m so sad that they can’t be here.

  3. Viv / Jun 3 2010 9:27 am

    We have near drought conditions here in my bit of the UK; it’s affecting the crops as well as the wildlife. Everything is a month behind anyway because of the cold winter.
    That fawn is adorable!

    • jennyannfraser / Jun 3 2010 10:01 am

      The world is a bit turned upside-down I’m afraid. Our agriculture industry is huge. I haven’t listened much to the news, but I’m sure this is not good for farmers.
      Thanks for commenting Viv, it’s good to see you!

  4. Beautiful park, and sick that it is under water.

    • jennyannfraser / Jun 6 2010 6:09 pm

      Thanks for stopping by Brandon.
      Actually, it isn’t anymore. This happens sometimes here, and we have a flood way that is used to protect the city when it’s under threat. They opened the gates a few days ago and now the water has receded. It will just take some time to dry up, but all will be well.

  5. rob white / Jun 7 2010 11:41 am

    We had record rains this spring in Boston. My beloved pond was flooded and the path I walk around was submerged. It is back to normal now and I would bet your beloved park will return to its glory. We cannot control these circumstances, only our reaction to it. While I was temporarily displaced I discovered a new route with new people to meet. I am sure you will find the equivalent good in this adversity.

    • jennyannfraser / Jun 7 2010 3:53 pm

      So True Rob!
      Actually, I haven’t checked the park for a few days, but last I was there the water had receded almost entirely. It shouldn’t take too long to dry up, (unless it keeps raining, lol) and I’m sure the animals will move back this way soon!

Leave a Reply

