Skip to content
July 30, 2010 / Jenny Ann Fraser

My First Guest Post!

I am truly honored to have been asked to submit a guest post to the lovely blog SOS: Sisterhood of Strength . It is a blog devoted to the artistic expression of girls and women living with mental illness.

I wrote my post, THE LIGHT AT THE MIDDLE OF THE TUNNEL, with the hope of inspiring others to have faith in the possibilities of recovery.

I truly believe that the best hope for health in regards to all forms of mental illness, will only be possible when the stigma of mental health issues is removed through compassion and understanding. Sharing our stories is one of many ways we can work towards that.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mommylebron / Jul 30 2010 1:58 pm

    Seeing the success and progress and creativity of adUlts gives me so much resurance! As you know I am raising a daughter with mental illness but I am learning more and more that this will not limit her potential! Heading over to read your post now!
    Love and kisses!

    • jennyannfraser / Jul 30 2010 6:46 pm

      Hi Amanda!
      Yes, it is so true that your daughter has all of the potential of anyone else. It’s so heartbreaking that children suffer like this, but with parents like your daughter has she has a bright future.
      Love to you, yours and LaBella!

  2. Belinda Munoz + The Halfway Point / Jul 31 2010 1:10 am

    I just read it and loved it. Left a comment there, too. (I was hearing “I am woman, hear me roar” on repeat in some parts 🙂

  3. tobeme / Aug 2 2010 5:49 pm

    I loved your guest post!

  4. Ollin Morales / Aug 3 2010 11:54 pm

    What a wonderful guest post. You are a truly brave, inspiring, and resilient woman! I have been working with a counselor these past six months and have uncovered some very ugly things from my past that have revealed to me why I am the way I am.

    I don’t have a condition like yours, but I this past incident has led to a lot of suffering and pain that I never knew the origin of until now. Now that I know the “why” I can now focus on the “how” and do what you do, I try my best to not be hard on myself and challenge every negative emotion or thought, knowing that it is not me, but the result of a traumatic event in my past.

    Thank you, thank you, your words are freeing and I am sure are uplifting so many people out there who suffer from mental illness, and those who have helped those suffering from mental illness (I think I told you my mom suffers from depression.)

    Oh and by the way. I have given you award on my blog. Congrats! 🙂

    • jennyannfraser / Aug 4 2010 8:00 am

      Thank you Ollin. I am so touched that my post moved you as it did. I’m so sorry to hear that you have been struggling, but I know that with faith and determination you will find your way through this, and come out stronger for it in the end. I know it.
      I am humbled by your award and I look forward to passing it along.
      Namaste

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention My First Guest Post! « arriving at your own door -- Topsy.com
  2. Singing My Way Through The Fear « arriving at your own door

Leave a Reply

