Skip to content
August 6, 2010 / Jenny Ann Fraser

Blogger Awards & Things I Possibly Shouldn’t Tell You

On Tuesday, I was given the You’re Going Places Baby award by Ollin Morales at {Courage 2 Create}.  Thank you Ollin! I am of course very touched and quite frankly really excited, but feeling a slight bit of guilt.

The reason for this guilt is that well over a month ago, Mommy Lebron of The Motherhood Umbrella was generous enough to give me the Beautiful Blogger Award.  At the time I was feeling a bit buried in life stuff and having some real issues with writing.  I was also totally overwhelmed by the notion of telling 7 random things about myself that readers may not know as well as paying it forward by nominating 15 bloggers you’ve recently discovered. The latter because I really hadn’t recently discovered 15 bloggers and the first because, well… I’m not sure.  But I’m over it now, and Ollin has limited the list of bloggers to 5.  So I’ll start there.

1. Of course, The Motherhood Umbrella.  I am incredibly inspired by the strength of Mommy Lebron and LeFam in dealing with her daughter LeBella’s Bipolar Disorder.

2. LeBella’s Rainbow. Yes, Mommy Lebron’s Daughter has her own brand new blog, and I think everyone should check it out to hear about life with Bipolar Disorder through her child’s eyes.  I can’t help but think we would all think twice before we judge children and their parents for their behaviors if we listened more to what children really feel, and considered what might really be going on.

5.The Halfway Point. Belinda always inspires and makes me think of things from a new perspective which is what I live for. So thanks for that Belinda!

4. Emily Jane who is holidaying in England right now, and I have to admit to being a bit jealous. I always feel a small surge of excitement when I realize that Emily has written a new post.

5. Mrs. Twigg who I have loved and worked with almost since my brother gave her a squash for no apparent reason some 12 or so years ago. Hers is the first blog I ever read, long before I ever considered blogging myself. I am loving her series where she is remembering her education one year at a time.

So here are 7 things that you might not know about me.

1. I have really big feet and I love it.  They were 17″ long when I was born. Oops, I was 17″ long when I was born.I wear a size 10, (40 EU, 8 UK). Not super human sized, but amazing considering that I am an unusually small person.

Ok.  I know that’s weird and you might think I’m totally over the top as I keep going on about how I love myself, but in my defense, I’ve always had big feet and I’ve always loved them.  They’re a great conversation starter and I like a good laugh at my own expense. Every so often, (usually at a party where there is some drinking going on) some acquaintance will suddenly notice and belt out, “Oh my God! What size shoes do you wear?”  I also have rather large hands but somehow they don’t look too weird. I’m great at covering my feet with wide bottomed pants and I love watching people’s jaws drop when I lift them up to show off my skis.

2. I just inherited my parents rather impressive stereo system and realized that I haven’t bought a CD in about 10 years.  It has a 5 disc rotary change system but for the past month I’ve only listened to Mozart’s Requiem.  I’m sure I’ll change the disc soon. I really want to hook it up to my laptop which is where I’ve stored music since I got my first computer, but I keep forgetting to price out the cable. I’ll do this soon.  Then I have to be careful not to blow all of the windows out of the building.

3. I mention in my guest post that I converted to Judaism about 10 years ago, but don’t practice anymore even thought I still have a profound love for the religion. My Hebrew name is Malka which means Queen.  My reasons for choosing that name at the time is another blog post but also, see #6.

4. While going through the conversion process I had to learn to read and write Hebrew.  This is done phonetically without actually learning much of the language itself, but learning it and practicing writing the new alphabet, from right to left, brought back the feeling of excitement that I had when I was 6 and learning to read for the first time.  I love that I had an opportunity to experience that again because I had completely forgotten it.

5. I’m crazy about the history of the British Monarchy especially the Tudors from King Henry VIII to Queen Elizabeth I.  This happened years before the television series, but guess what my favorite show is…? Yes, The Tudors, so you see.  I don’t just watch it for the costumes.

Kerri and I. We're both Queens.

6.Recently, it occurred to me that maybe I was Queen Elizabeth I in a past life.  I think I might be serious. I’m certain that I am supposed to be the Queen of something and when I figure out what, I will crown myself.  I already have the crown.

As I contemplate the fact that I am still single and pretty ok with it, I’m also wondering if I have some sort of latent subconscious fear that if I get married I’ll end up having my head cut off. If I really was Queen Elizabeth I in a past life, we couldn’t call that fear irrational.

7. When I started school as a child my parents thought it was a good idea to send me to French school instead of English even though my parents themselves are English, (as in, from England). Their theory?  I was a smart kid, I’d catch on.  Sadly, the French community didn’t want non-Francophone children in their schools as they were, and are,  struggling to maintain their culture and language in a largely English-speaking society. Petitions were signed, and I am not bilingual.

I’ve always wanted to be able to speak French and more so now that I live in a predominantly French neighborhood.

I don’t have a bucket list but I’ll start one now.

1.  Learn to speak French. That way, I’ll be able to talk to myself in two languages.

19 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mommylebron / Aug 6 2010 7:56 am

    Thank you, Jenny! I am happy to get an award, but LeBella is absolutely estatic! I’m that you love yourself and though it may seem odd, I think I love you, too! You know, I’m reading Eat, Pray, Love right now and I can’t seem to picture Julia Roberts, I see you.And I adore the book, and Elizabeth Gilbert, and you!

    • jennyannfraser / Aug 6 2010 10:10 pm

      Seriously, I’m so happy that I was able to brighten LeBella’s day!
      Eat, Pray,Love is at the very top of my all-time favorite books! That’s so funny and a truly beautiful compliment!
      There you go. It’s that “Give and you shall receive” thing all over again.

  2. tobeme / Aug 6 2010 12:34 pm

    Thanks for the wonderful links.

    I love what you shared, you are a breath of fresh air!

    • jennyannfraser / Aug 6 2010 10:17 pm

      Thank you as always Mark. I’m so honored to know you are reading.

  3. kerri / Aug 6 2010 1:14 pm

    Congrats and thanks for the mention. I appreciate it.

    p.s I love our queen picture!

    • jennyannfraser / Aug 6 2010 10:17 pm

      Thank you, and, you’re welcome. We should play dress-up again sometime.

  4. Ollin Morales / Aug 6 2010 11:38 pm

    Your majesty! I didn’t know ;). Does that mean you can Knight me? Haha. Thanks for the new bloggers and for having the courage to share. It’s always a fun way to learn more about my blogger friends, and I enjoy it! 🙂

    • jennyannfraser / Aug 7 2010 12:38 pm

      Thank you again for the lovely award Ollin!
      Yes, I can actually Knight you. I’ve done it before, 😉
      Therefore I dub thee, Sir Ollin! Congratulations!

      • Ollin / Aug 10 2010 2:34 am

        Yes! I ALWAYS wanted to be a Sir! Thanks you, your majesty! 🙂

  5. Gnetch / Aug 10 2010 12:48 pm

    Congrats on the awards!! You know, I have really small feet (5 inches) and I used to be conscious about them that I wear shoes 1 size bigger just so my feet would appear a little more normal. ;p

    • jennyannfraser / Aug 10 2010 8:09 pm

      Wow Gnetch! That’s tiny. Feel good about your tiny feet. They’re the only pair you have.
      Thanks for stopping by.

  6. Chris Edgar / Aug 10 2010 8:33 pm

    That’s funny, it didn’t occur to me at all that you were going on and on about how much you loved yourself — actually I’d like to hear more of that. 🙂

  7. Belinda Munoz + The Halfway Point / Aug 10 2010 11:51 pm

    Hi Jenny (I mean Malka), I’m so late getting here but I am honored to be on your list especially since I have really been enjoying your blog also.

    And I love reading 7 things about you! Isn’t it funny how we reluctantly reveal random things about ourselves in print? I think that too often we think it’s narcissistic of us, but I love learning more about bloggers like you from your point of view.

    Oh, andI’m so glad you said “oops” to the 17″ baby feet! Whew! That would’ve been almost as big as my son when he was born!

    • jennyannfraser / Aug 12 2010 4:48 pm

      Hello Belinda,
      Thank you again for reading and commenting. I really do love how you make me think.

  8. jennyannfraser / Aug 6 2010 10:18 pm

    Thank you and welcome. Trackbacks are always appreciated.

Trackbacks

  1. Mental Disorders 101
  2. One Year, Awards, and A Bit About Me — the halfway point

Leave a Reply

