Skip to content
September 13, 2010 / Jenny Ann Fraser

My Sacred Space

A while back, I wrote about the spare room in my apartment that was originally intended to be an art room. A lack of furniture saw it turn itself into a meditation room instead.

I also wrote in that post about how I was about to re-purpose it, and so a few weeks ago, I moved my laptop cart and began to use it as my writing space. I admit that I was a bit sad to give up my meditation room, but it just made sense, and I know that I don’t require a room dedicated to meditation in order to practice.

A laptop cart is not exactly a great workspace, in fact it isn’t a workspace, and between it and the hard kitchen chair that I sit on, my body has had a lot of reason to protest. My back is a mess from the base of my skull down to my hips, and an old problem with my wrist, from years back which left me unable to use my left hand for nearly 6 months, (which means I cannot do my job) is back. This time it’s both wrists and typing is becoming difficult. I knew that it was time for a proper keyboard, but I had no place to put it. So I bought a desk. A monster desk. The desk I’ve been drooling all over in the office supply store. When I saw it, I told the woman on the sales floor, “I’m going to have that desk!” This was when I was unemployed and rent and food were about all I could afford.

I mentioned a while back that I am clearly attracting more abundance into my life and well… it just keeps coming my way. So this week I decided that it was a great week (being my birthday and all) to take care of me.

My new boss was more than happy to let me work at home on Friday so that I could have it delivered.

Saturday I had planned to spend the day shopping for a proper chair, but I still needed to find someone to come over and help me put the desk together.

Now I can build things, it’s what I do for a living and it’s the same mental process to put together a period corset as say, a deck in the back yard, though both would require different skills, not to mention tools. That said,  I had unpleasant visions of what could potentially happen when little ole’ me tried to mount the large glass tops with the same screwed up hands that contributed to my spaghetti arms which are now more like vermicelli. I needed a male friend to come over and help me, which is not a problem but might take some time. Plus, I had a desperately needed massage scheduled late Friday afternoon.

But, as fate would have it, I screwed up, got lost and missed the massage. They were kind enough to reschedule for the next day.

I decided that I while my error put me in the wrong area of town to get the massage, I was in the right area of town to go shopping for a desk chair.

It took a few hours and a few bus rides, but I eventually made it home with a great chair thanks to a really lovely cab driver who not only taught me a few things I didn’t know about the Toyota Prius, but was kind enough to carry the rather heavy box right to my back door.

So at 10:00 on Friday night, I decided to start building my new office. I just couldn’t wait to arrange for someone to help me put it together. After all, I am my Dad’s daughter. I would do it myself. That’s what advanced furniture protection is for right?

Once I had studied the instructions, I decided that my original intention of reversing the side that the keyboard tray went on wouldn’t work. But, at 2:30 am after I had successfully mounted the glass tops I changed my mind. So I took it apart.

At 3:30 am, I had almost completed everything. The keyboard tray was where I wanted it to be. But the sliders were backwards.

I went to bed.

5 ½ hours later, I awoke with a start eager to keep going. Why? Because sleep is for people who don’t have incredibly exciting things to do, like putting desks together. I took the desk apart again, and finally got it right.

By the time I had finished both the desk and the chair early Saturday afternoon, I realized that massage then desk and chair building was the absolute wrong way to go. I am now going to credit the Universe for my lack of ability to follow directions and navigate my way around the city that I’ve lived in all of my life.

And while the desk is successfully put together, I have to admit, that I still need a man. I need a man to turn 5 screws where the threads were slightly crossed (NOT my fault,) because I don’t have the strength. They’re fine for now.

Here’s the best part. Adding the massive desk somehow just makes me love this room even more. My ugly old orange chair still belongs here and much to my surprise fits perfectly. I will continue to meditate in this room as it is now, and the new addition is a great big glass reminder to continue practicing gratitude.

Now I am sitting at my beautiful desk in my comfortable chair with an ergonomically correct keyboard. (Which already feels soooo much better!) Alison Balsom playing on Itunes, sounding amazing with all of the glass and just the right amount of old orange chair to absorb the sound. I am at peace . I wish I could share it, so here is taste of my world in this moment.

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. kevinmorente / Sep 13 2010 8:28 am

    Here in the Philippines it comes very cheap to assemble a desk similar to yours or is delivered perfectly assembled. Nothing beats a good days work when its done. Don’t worry about someone to help you with a screw here and there. Who needs one when its done OK. I enjoyed reading your entry,

  2. rob white / Sep 13 2010 10:34 am

    “sleep is for people who don’t have incredibly exciting things to do…” Ha ha. very good Jenny Ann. I love your humor… it is true… when our passions are aroused energy is infinite.

    • Jenny Ann Fraser / Sep 13 2010 1:49 pm

      LOL. Sadly, my energy seems to become less infinite when I have to get up for work Monday morning. Today, I’m being grateful for coffee.

  3. shiona / Sep 13 2010 10:42 am

    This is post is a lot of fun. I enjoyed reading it very much. 🙂

  4. Chris Edgar / Sep 13 2010 10:47 am

    Hi Jenny — I’m not particularly materialistic — in fact, I’m almost non-materialistic to a fault — but I can relate to your joy at finding a great desk. I get the same feeling when it comes to bookshelves, not to mention the books that line them.

    • Jenny Ann Fraser / Sep 13 2010 1:52 pm

      Hi there Chris,
      I hear what you are saying about the materialism. I’m generally the same myself which I think increases the warm fuzzy feelings when I acquire something that truly enhances what I do. I feel the same about bookcases… they’re next on the list. I have plenty to put on them but all of the books have been living in boxes for the past 4 years. Soon. 🙂

  5. Kathy Loh / Sep 13 2010 9:22 pm

    You had me smiling all the way through. Love the desk and yes, isn’t it fantastic when we give ourselves, our bodies, minds, spirits and heart what they want. I feel you have this whole new relationship with yourself and it’s not about material stuff. Funny story about assembling and not waiting for someone to help and that line about sleep for people who don’t have exciting things to do is too funny. Happy Birthday by the way. Wishing you a delightful year.

    • Jenny Ann Fraser / Sep 14 2010 12:35 am

      Thank you so much Kathy! It really is about a whole new relationship, but I hadn’t thought about it that way. What a gift! I have no doubt that this year will be delightful!

  6. kerri / Sep 14 2010 6:08 am

    Yes, very busy times. I woke at 5 am to bake a cake — I couldn’t stand to see more apples go bad on my counter.

    Congrats on the desk! Looks like a great space to work.

    • Jenny Ann Fraser / Sep 14 2010 3:07 pm

      Thanks Kerri! Wow, I’m a night owl. It would be so much easier for me to stay up until 5:00 am than wake up at 5. I actually wish I could change but I am really not wired for it. I’ll bet that cake is delicious.
      The workspace is incredible! I’m not sure I need a living room anymore, LOL.

Trackbacks

  1. Singing My Way Through The Fear « arriving at your own door

Leave a Reply

