Skip to content
July 28, 2011 / Jenny Ann Fraser

What I Love…

For a long time now, while dealing with the complexities of life, I have been contemplating where to go with my writing. Specifically this blog.

This has turned into one of those puzzles that I love to roll around in my head, but the solutions seem to evade me. The issue is one of connecting the things I write about and the things I want to write about. Everything does connect, I see that clearly, but how to lay it out in a way that makes sense? Finally, I decided to just go for it. “Show up at the page.”

I have taken myself back to the beginning of Arriving At Your Own Door. What does it mean? How do you get there?

The whole point was self-love. That thing I discovered when I finally got sick-and-tired of feeling bad about myself. The thing that became clear when I realized that perfection is unattainable, and that my only chance of happiness was to live my own truth, my own values, and my own rules completely and fully. That also means making my own mistakes, and learning my own lessons. I finally understand that anyone who would criticize or condemn me can’t possibly know better than I, how I should be.

I had arrived at my own door when I realized that being a good, compassionate loving person is enough. In fact, it is more than enough.

These past months, I have discovered a new love.

Much to my surprise, I have experienced in myself a passion for, of all things… Customer Service!

I have realized that the years of working on myself to grow, to be more patient, less judgemental and having a genuine desire to give have made me great at that part of my job. It has also made me incredibly aware of how rewarding it is to act out of love every chance I get.

Love just seems to grow and expand the more you let it. The more you give, the more you have to give and it becomes easier to let that happen the more you practice.

And so we come around to the third thing. The thing that I love most of all.

One of my favourite spots beside the river near my home.

This Earth.

This Earth, which has already been irreparably damaged by our actions and our way of life.

This Earth, where the majority of its human population lives in poverty and a privileged few take so much more than their share.

This Earth which is as I write this; on fire, underwater, horrifically polluted, ripped up by tornadoes and more, largely caused by our own actions.

This Earth which we so take for granted that we might not survive another generation.

I know that for all of the devastation that we have seen, heard of or experienced that there is a lot to hope for. We have a world full of brilliant committed minds working on developing technologies, systems and ideas to deal with our future, proving that we have a great chance of making it better.

But, I also know that most people I meet think I’m nuts when I say that I work to keep my carbon footprint to a minimum, or why I don’t buy plastic bottles, shop at Wal-Mart or buy things just because I want them.

When I set aside my anger at their indifference to our plight and seek to understand why they might see things so differently than I, it has become clear to me that most simply don’t get it.

The news is conflicting, confusing and mostly vague. There is no clarity between real science and speculation by journalists and commentators. We seem to think that climate change is like God. We can choose whether to believe in it or not.

The frightening part is that choosing not to believe in something won’t make it go away and while we might not be able to prove climate change with 100% certainty, we know enough to be taking it very, very seriously. Waiting for proof might likely be suicide.

We have been warned for over two decades what would happen if we continued increasing our carbon emissions: Melting polar ice-caps, arid lands becoming desert, violent storms, record rains and floods, pest infestations caused by warming temperatures and increasing poverty just to name a few. All of those things are happening right now and have been happening for some time. The part the scientists got wrong? That it would happen 50 years ahead of schedule and faster than anyone could imagine.

The grain industry in my Province of Manitoba and the neighbouring Saskatchewan expect to lose up to 2.5 billion dollars this year due to fields that were not planted due to flooding. Food will not be grown in much of the US due to flooding and fire and yet we still argue the economic feasibility of green living. I’m wondering what is the economic feasibility of total annihilation?

But this is what I believe:

I believe that where there is a will there is a way and if we were to extend our love and compassion to all others and this Earth, the only home we have, we stand a far better chance of saving it that we do by making up excuses about why we can’t change.

I believe that change, would enhance our lives by allowing us to focus on the things in life which are most important.

I believe that we have here an opportunity to evolve into something greater than we can collectively imagine and create a world that is so much better than what we have now when we commit to loving ourselves, each other, and this beautiful Earth.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Patricia / Jul 28 2011 1:14 pm

    me too! I believe that we have here an opportunity to evolve into something greater than we can collectively imagine and create a world that is so much better than what we have now when we commit to loving ourselves, each other, and this beautiful Earth.

    Thank you for sharing this from your point of love – spoke loudly to me

    • Jenny Ann Fraser / Jul 28 2011 6:43 pm

      Thank you Patricia,
      It is an honor to have my words read by those I so admire! It is also inspiring to know that I am not alone in my thinking. Blessings.

  2. Greg / Jul 28 2011 11:26 pm

    well put jenny

  3. pea / Jul 30 2011 10:11 am

    A very profound piece Jenny with a few areas I was nodding and smiling to. The idea of ‘turning up at the (first) page’ with seemingly little ammunition or inspiration which is exactly how I started and the idea of simply looking after our home (and it’s other inhabitants) in a mature and responsible fashion. I shall join the lovely Tess Marshall in retweeting this piece.

    • Jenny Ann Fraser / Jul 30 2011 10:29 am

      Thank you for stopping by! All tweets are greatly appreciated.
      I am so glad you enjoyed it.

  4. DM / Jul 31 2011 9:31 am

    I think for me the reason the earth (and all growing things in general) are near and dear to my heart is because I feel a “connectedness” to the spiritual world through it. I don’t worship the creation itself, but the fingerprints of God are all over it. Didn’t always used to feel this way. and on a related note, I was reading a locally written book that described the wildlife and streams in our area dating back to the mid 1800’s…It grieves my heart to read about what used to be and the muddy, mess that it has become…in large measure due to the selfishness and greed of past generations…. Glad you’re enjoying your new customer service gig.

    • Jenny Ann Fraser / Jul 31 2011 4:35 pm

      Hi Doug!
      Thanks for stopping by!
      I hear you loud and clear. When it comes to connectedness, I think the way to find it is to spend as much time as you can outdoors, paying close attention to this wonderful Earth. I do believe that God is in everything that is created…the Earth and everyone, and everything is really just one great big whole. Kill a part and you kill a part of everything. It is truly heart-breaking that we have not learned to appreciate this reality. I really hope we get there fast!

  5. Emily Jane / Aug 8 2011 11:16 am

    Wonderful post, and so glad to see you writing again.

    “I believe that where there is a will there is a way and if we were to extend our love and compassion to all others …. we stand a far better chance of saving it that we do by making up excuses about why we can’t change.”

    This can be applied to so many more things and is a really important point to remind ourselves on in all walks of life. Very well put 🙂

    • Jenny Ann Fraser / Aug 8 2011 8:10 pm

      Hello Emily! It’s nice to “see” you again!
      It is so true that we really can overcome incredible obstacles when we are determined. Thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

