Skip to content
August 1, 2011 / Jenny Ann Fraser

Thandie Newton Stole My Blog Post!

Today, I was going to write a post about compassion. What I have learned, what I am still learning.

To be compassionate, requires an understanding of our inextricable connection with each other, the Earth and all of its living things. When we understand ourselves as a part of the whole universe, not some separate entity whose actions have minimal value or effect, then I believe we will be much closer to who we were all meant to be.  We will be much closer to how we are meant to be and in that, we will create our best chances of healing ourselves, and the rest of the world.

But, a few late-night random clicks of the mouse led me to Thandie Newton brilliant presentation on TED.com .

Embracing Otherness, Embracing Myself touched me deeply.

Of course I resonated with Thandie’s experience of otherness, being mixed race, as I am, how could I not?  But her words go so far beyond the man-made construct of race and go straight to the heart of what I believe we need to understand the most: Oneness.

I don’t often post video on this blog these days.  It is much faster and easier to read a blog post than it is to watch a 14 minute video.

However, this would be 14 minutes well spent, and I am excited to have the opportunity to share this and hopefully expand it’s circulation…

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Patricia / Aug 2 2011 6:02 pm

    stunning…worth watching numerous times…

    • Jenny Ann Fraser / Aug 2 2011 6:53 pm

      It certainly is worth watching numerous times… imagine the world we could have if we embraced this concept of oneness? Thanks for stopping by Patricia!

  2. rob white / Aug 3 2011 9:16 am

    Thanks for sharing this, Jenny Ann. The TED is such an amazing resource. It is amazing how quickly we forget the infinite extent of our relationship to the universe. It is daily work to be mindful of the fact that we are not separate but part of that one marvelous whole.

    • Jenny Ann Fraser / Aug 3 2011 11:34 am

      So very true Rob! Just think of the world we would live in if we gave up the illusion of separateness!
      I am incredibly grateful to TED and Thandie for sharing this in such a poignant way!
      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. brittany220 / Aug 5 2011 1:06 pm

    Great, I can’t wait to watch it! There are many inspirational videos out there that are very moving, and I look forward to seeing this one.

    • Jenny Ann Fraser / Aug 6 2011 3:49 pm

      Hi Brittany,
      I do hope you have the time to watch this. It is inspiring both on a personal level, and in the bigger picture.
      Thanks for stopping by!

      • brittany220 / Aug 6 2011 4:01 pm

        Thanks I did watch it and it was great! I really love the way she speaks. She has such a gentle yet powerful voice. I hope I can learn to speak as well as she does sometime!

        • Jenny Ann Fraser / Aug 8 2011 8:09 pm

          I am glad you enjoyed it so much Brittany!
          I know that you are working on public speaking. Isn’t it fascinating how you see things differently when you really start to learn about it?
          I would suggest though that you concentrate on learning to speak in your own voice without comparing to others. Only your true voice will work for you, mine for me and so on!
          Good luck Brittany! I can’t wait to hear about your progress!

  4. Ollin / Aug 5 2011 10:15 pm

    I loved this TED video! What a wonderful message. I wish we all thought this way…

    • Jenny Ann Fraser / Aug 6 2011 3:50 pm

      Hi Ollin,
      I think that as more and more of us learn to think in new ways, it will catch on. That is why I think it is so important to share what we find with each other so that we can spread positive influence at ever opportunity. INTERNET FOREVER!

Leave a Reply

